Egyptian Books By Dora Benley on Amazon:

Just this past summer Dora Benley has published a number of Egyptian-themed books on Amazon Kindle with free giveaways for each one. Cheops Books LLC has published Demon From Egypt, Curse of Egypt, Doom of Egypt, Caesar and Cleopatra: A Novel, Book of the Dead, Curse of the Pharaoh, and Cleopatra’s Stone. These young adult thrillers and romantic thrillers are among some of her most popular novels.

To concentrate on two of the most frequently sought after  Egyptian novels, Demon From Egypt has attracted many downloads. In Demon From Egypt Cheryl must spend the summer cleaning the beach house and collecting mail for the new tenant. The only problem, he doesn’t seem to be anywhere. There is no food in his refrigerator. He has no mail to bring in. When she tries to clean the basement, the door is padlocked and bolted.

What kind of weirdo is this? He paid for his whole year lease upfront with cash sent from a rental agency that doesn’t even exist. Is he a criminal of some kind?
Cheryl need only turn to her cat. He likes to prowl around the place at night. He discovers wild goings on in the basement of the supernatural kind. The place is haunted to say the least by not by anything ordinary. An ancient evil inhabits the place. From the days of ancient Egypt and Greece comes a monster. If Cheryl doesn’t watch out, she soon will be dead.

Curse of Egypt is perennially popular with readers. Sondra returns from a day out with her Dad in Charlottesville, Virginia where she lives with her mother and grandmother. Her dad asks her as always if she wants to come and live with him in Tucson. She says as usual that her mother and grandmother depend on her. They discuss why her parents got divorced. Her father confesses as usual that he doesn’t know. Her mother just left one day without explanation and took Sondra with her.

Sondra rushes into the house to plant a bare root rose. Her mother and grandmother depend on her to do the yard work, too. But while she is digging in the backyard she comes upon a strange golden object. Her next door neighbor, Stew Hoolihan, says it looks like a museum piece and they ought to call the police.
Immediately when she goes inside her mother says that she has called her father and agreed that Sondra should indeed live with him in Tucson. Sondra cannot figure out why. Does it have to do with the golden object found in the backyard? What do her mother and grandmother know about it? What are they concealing from her? Sondra had better find out. It soon becomes a matter of life and death. Ancient civilizations from long before she was born are helping to determine her fate.

Leave a reply

Demon From Egypt by Dora Benley:

In Demon From Egypt Cheryl must spend the summer cleaning the beach house and collecting mail for the new tenant. The only problem, he doesn’t seem to be anywhere. There is no food in his refrigerator. He has no mail to bring in. When she tries to clean the basement, the door is padlocked and bolted.

What kind of weirdo is this? He paid for his whole year lease upfront with cash sent from a rental agency that doesn’t even exist. Is he a criminal of some kind?

Cheryl need only turn to her cat. He likes to prowl around the place at night. He discovers wild goings on in the basement of the supernatural kind. The place is haunted to say the least by not by anything ordinary. An ancient evil inhabits the place. From the days of ancient Egypt and Greece comes a monster. If Cheryl doesn’t watch out, she soon will be dead.

Demon From Egypt was originally published in German by Cora Verlag. If you liked Demon From Egypt you will enjoy Dora Benley’s other ancient thrillers including Caesar and Cleopatra, Minotaur, Book of the Dead, Cleopatra’s Stone, and Helen of Troy.

Save

Leave a reply

Curse of the Pharaoh:

Lenore Rawlings has always been a loner in the new YA novel Curse of the Pharaoh. She has a pet cat, a dog, and even as snake which is appropriate considering that she has recently moved to Arizona. Today she must drive her boyfriend and a teacher who is also an archaeologist to the new museum in town. The newest pharaoh from Egypt, his queen, and the court are on display, on loan from Egypt. But little does Lenore realize that waiting for her at the museum is a boy named Seti, whom she can’t even see because he is invisible. The ghost lingers by the museum exhibit waiting for his lost love with long red hair and green eyes, the very image of Lenore. When he sees Lenore he thinks she is the reincarnation of his lover from thousands of years before and turns out the lights. Lenore feels a hand on her shoulder. She has better figure out what to do fast or she might well end up kidnapped by a wraith from ancient times.

If you liked Curse of the Pharaoh, you will like other young adult thrillers and supernatural novels by Dora Benley including Curse of Egypt, Doom of Egypt, Book of the Dead, Julia: A Novel, and Livia: A Novel.

Save

Leave a reply

Doom of Egypt on Special Kindle Give Away:

Get your free copy of Dora Benley’s latest young adult supernatural thriller, Doom of Egypt. It will be on special promotion on Amazon Kindle starting today and continuing for the next five days. But hurry! This promotion will not be repeated this year. It is the next of the novels with ancient themes in the tradition of Cleopatra’s Stone, Caesar and Cleopatra: A Novel, Book of the Dead, and Curse of Egypt.

June is turning eighteen, but her father can’t be there. He is excavating the Tomb of the Unknown Princess in Egypt. He sends her a card with a necklace of red jewels instead. When she looks into the mirror she thinks she sees eyes staring at her.
For her birthday her boyfriend, Andy, takes her to the museum to see artifacts from the excavation that her father has sent back from Egypt. She feels drawn to a room that is shut off, not yet open to the public. Andy can’t stop her in time. The statue inside stares back at her. Her red eyes light up just as on the necklace. She sighs, “At last, my daughter, you’ve come home!” June had better figure out what is going on or she might become stone cold dead like the statue soon.

If you enjoyed Doom of Egypt you will like Dora Benley’s other young adult thrillers and supernatural novels such as Curse of Egypt, Book of the Dead, Medea the Witch, Mary’s Gone, and Cleopatra’s Stone.

Save

Leave a reply

Curse of Egypt on Amazon Free Promotion NOW:

Curse of Egypt is free on Amazon Kindle starting today. Download your copy of Dora Benley’s latest young adult thriller with a supernatural twist about ancient Egypt and ancient times. If you were always fascinated by the excavation of King Tut’s Tomb, if you admired the sculpture bust of Nefertiti, if you thought the Pharaoh Akhenaten was mysterious, this is the novel for you. For the next five days you will have a unique opportunity. But hurry! This offer will not be repeated this year.

Sondra returns from a day out with her Dad in Charlottesville, Virginia where she lives with her mother and grandmother. Her dad asks her as always if she wants to come and live with him in Tucson. She says as usual that her mother and grandmother depend on her. They discuss why her parents got divorced. Her father confesses as usual that he doesn’t know. Her mother just left one day without explanation and took Sondra with her.

Sondra rushes into the house to plant a bare root rose. Her mother and grandmother depend on her to do the yardwork, too. But while she is digging in the backyard she comes upon a strange golden object. Her next door neighbor, Stew Hoolihan, says it looks like a museum piece and they ought to call the police.

Immediately when she goes inside her mother says that she has called her father and agreed that Sondra should indeed live with him in Tucson. Sondra cannot figure out why. Does it have to do with the golden object found in the backyard? What do her mother and grandmother know about it? What are they concealing from her? Sondra had better find out. It soon becomes a matter of life and death. Ancient civilizations from long before she was born are helping to determine her fate.

If you liked Curse of Egypt you will enjoy other novels by Dora Benley such as Cleopatra’s Stone, Caesar and Cleopatra: A Novel, Medea: the Witch, Minotaur, and Helen of Troy.

Save

Leave a reply

Egypt Was Better Off In The British Empire:

Egypt may be a fully functioning state, but it does not function as well as it did in the days of the British Empire. Agatha Christie could write Death on the Nile because there were actually lots of Brits living in Egypt in those days and lots of tourists, too, as I advertise in Salisbury Plot where Dora and Edward visit the Sphinx and Helga takes advantage of the opportunity to chase Dora up the monument where she hides behind the Sphinx’s head. Helga then plants a cobra to attack her. Leopold saves all, only to get shot and tumble down the side of the Sphinx. And there was all that great stuff about British Mid East Headquarters, too, where Edward worked in several of the novels. Remember how he was defending it in the Battle of El Alamein? Those were far more interesting days in Egyptian history than now. Now you can’t even get there to visit the pyramids at all. Somehow the terrorists have managed to curtail a 2000 year old plus tourist industry. Remember how Julius Caesar visited Egypt during the Alexandrian Campaign? Now he would not be able to go ashore.

Save

Leave a reply

Egypt and Terrorism: A Setting in Salisbury Plot

And today we wake up and find out that there was an attack on the Coptic Pope and Coptic Christians on Palm Sunday in Egypt and that the Roman Pope is supposed to visit there. It reminds me that there used to be a time long, long ago when Egypt was in the forefront of civilization. Back in the ancient world it was the breadbasket of the world supplying grains and crops to Rome and Greece. Back then the Hellenistic Greeks ran the country through the Ptolemy dynasty especially Cleopatra. The library of Alexandria was the standard for the world. Alexandria was full of scholars and writers. Even the New Testament was written in Greek in Alexandria. Then came the Arabs and the place has never been the same since. At least under the British Empire it was peaceful. Dora and Edward in the Edward Ware Thrillers at War Series were able to live in a house on Geizira Island in Cairo and not be disturbed by the population there while Edward worked at British Mid-East Headquarters. The locals in those days weren’t allowed on Geizira except as servants. Only other Europeans such as Rommel caused a flap and made the British think of deserting — not Arab terrorists. The scene of Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Nile, now Egypt has fallen so low that even cruise ships won’t dock there anymore. QM2 used to but now they just sail past.
Several Edward Ware Thrillers at War novels take place in Egypt. Captive at the Berghof is partially set at British Mid-East Headquarters. Even Key to Lawrence Special Edition mentions it in letters from Edward and his family. The novel that features the Egyptian setting the most is the upcoming Salisbury Plot, the second volume of the series. It is to be published by Cheops Books LLC on May 1. It is now available for pre-order on Amazon.com.

Leave a reply